From Cool Blue Jean Jacket to Haute Denim Vest

My denim jacket is a national treasure! Like James Dean and Marilyn Monroe, its appeal never gets old. It also gets a lot of frequent flier miles because it’s spells cool in any country.  It’s a piece I love to wear over spring dresses or along with my neon jeans. I was elated when I ran across one on a vintage shopping adventure for less than $3!  This specific denim jacket was a stand out because of its collarless detail. Of course in my enthusiasm, I snatched it from the rack without following one of my own Seven Steps to Successful Vintage Shopping. (Cue the melancholy tune from violin quartet.)

 I didn’t try it on.

When I got home and tried the jacket on, I discovered the sleeves stopped two inches from my wrists.

I’ll just roll the sleeves.

Rolled sleeves worked for a few looks and gave my favorite colorful printed beaded bracelets the chance to take center stage.

Then EUREKA! After seeing my fellow blogger, Anuschka Rees in her denim vest I knew my jacket’s fate! My denim jacket was about to graduate to a new level of chic. Gone were those pesky sleeves, holding my jacket back from its full potential, to live it’s moment in the sun as- a denim vest!

You Can Wear a Denim Vest!

– Over a mini body con dress with flat t-strap sandals for a casual cute day look.

-With a midi or maxi skirt and a silk blouson tank for brunch with the girls.

-With a sporty tee and denim skinnies for an easy weekend look.

(Tip: When wearing denim twice, pick two very different shades in the fabric. Try a light shade on your vest and skinnies in a deep indigo shade)

-Over a chiffon asymmetrical dress to mix tough and tender for a flirty date night look.

Here’s how I wore my denim vest for a day of errands.

How will you wear your denim vest?

READY SET DRESSS!!

Edited by Cheryl Y. Hunt

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “From Cool Blue Jean Jacket to Haute Denim Vest

  1. Elle Ro says:

    Oooooh I have a denim jacket that I was gonna pull out after I saw a pic in Essence magazine, now I may have to add some extra flava to it! A little nervous that I won’t cut it right though 0_o

  2. pick two very different shades in the fabric <– thank you for stating this! I hate seeing matching denim. A little part of me dies inside. Where did you get those orange skinnies?!

    • Matching denim is one of my style pet peeves!
      You will never believe where I got the orange jeans! Dots! I have never been a fan of their clothing but I saw these in the window and the rest is history!

  3. Elle Ro says:

    I cut my jacket today!!!!!!! I will post pics….umm as soon as possible. (you know me?)

THOUGHTS? COMMENTS? WEIGH IN!

